Nicaragua Update – And we are off!

This has been a busy week for me. On Tuesday I took the biggest exam of my life (my first board exam). It was challenging, rewarding, stressful, exciting, and I am so happy to have gotten it over with. I will not know the results for about 7 weeks, so please do not ask me, but I feel that I did the best that I could so I am content.

Then I moved right into prepping for Nicaragua, finding my scrubs, stethoscope, and more. It took me 4 days, but I am all packed and I don’t think I have forgotten anything (although I am sure once I get there I will have). I am nervous, but more than that I am excited.

I will be serving as a medical missionary for 30 days in Leon, Nicaragua at a rural clinic just outside the city. While I do not exactly know what my role will be or where I can help the most, I know I will be serving others and I will be challenged mentally, physically, academically, and spiritually over the course of the 30 days. I will have internet access during my time there and I will attempt to update daily or as often as I can with my goings on down there.

My schedule tomorrow involves an early morning wake up, two plane rides, and meeting up with the Nicaraguan missionaries. 🙂

Thank you to everyone who has helped me get to this point! I have always wanted to serve overseas and always wanted to serve medically! More updates to come…

Leave a Reply

