Intention Challenge – Days 1-2

Hey everyone! Here is my day 1 and 2 update. I had to study for a gastroenterology midterm last night and so my update was pushed back a bit. 😦

d830b81b-5875-4055-8f72-6edb008373d8

Veggie soup for the cold dark days of sugar cleanse… tomatoes, celery, carrots, onion, homemade chicken broth, garlic, salt/pepper

Day 1 – 1 out of the 3 complete

Intention: Sugar Cleanse – Complete

I was able to go the whole first day on the complete sugar cleanse without cheating. I forgot to write down what I ate for you guys to peruse over, but I will try to keep a log of it in the future! Below is the foods that are “allowed” and foods that are “allowed in certain amounts”.

  • Meat, fish, eggs (any kinds as much as you like)
  • Veggies (pretty much all)
    • Artichokes, asparagus, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cabbage
    • Carrots, cauliflower, celery, chard, collards, cucumber
    • Eggplant, Garlic, Ginger, Green beans, Horseradish
    • Jicama, Kale, Leeks, Lettuce (all leafy greens), Mushrooms
    • Onions, Parsnips, Peppers (all), Radicchio, Radishes
    • Rutabaga, Snow/Snap peas, Spaghetti squash, Spinach
    • Tomato, Turnips, Yellow squash, Zucchini
    • 1 cup serving per day of 1 of the following:
      • Acorn squash, Beets, Butternut squash, Green peas
      • Pumpkin, Winter squash
    • 1/2 Sweet Potato if you work out for 60 minutes
  • Fruit
    • Lemon, Lime – as much as you like
    • 1 piece per day of… green/granny smith apple, green tipped banana, grapefruit
  • Nuts/Seeds (whole, flour, or butters)
    • Almonds, brazil nuts, Cocoa/Cacao (100%, nibs), Chia seeds
    • Coconut (unsweetened, NO coconut sugar)
    • Filberts/Hazelnuts, Flaxseed, Hemp seeds, Macadamia nuts
    • Pecans, Pistachios, Pumpkin seeds, Sunflower seeds
    • Sesame seeds, Tahini, Walnuts
  • Fats & Oils
    • Animal fats, Butter, Ghee, Clarified butter
    • Avocados (and oil), Coconut oil, Flax oil, Olives (olive oil)
    • Sesame oil
  • Beverages
    • Almond milk (unsweetened), Coconut milk/cream (full fat)
    • Coffee, Espresso (thank goodness)
    • Mineral water, Seltzer, Club Soda, Water
    • Teas: herbal, green, black, white, etc. (unsweetened)
    • 1 cup per day of… coconut juice/water OR kombucha
  • Condiments, Etc.
    • Broth (homemade), Coconut aminos
    • Ketchup (homemade, sweetener free)
    • Extracts: vanilla, almond, vanilla bean, etc.
    • Hummus (cauliflower)
    • Mayonnaise (homemade, but I don’t like it so I won’t make it)
    • Mustard (GF), Nutritional/Brewer’s yeast
    • Salad dressing (homemade, if store bought check ingredients list)
    • All spices and herbs (check blends for hidden things)
    • Vinegars: apple cider, balsamic, distilled, red wine, rice sherry, whtie

Intention: Exercise 30 minutes/day – kinda sorta

My only time for exercise was before my lab and I did not go to the gym. I did work a shift in the ED (emergency department) where I stood for almost 8 hours, so I will count that as partially complete

Intention: Journal/Reflect/Meditate 10 minutes/day – negatory :-/

I will admit I completely dropped the ball on this one. Slowing down for me is like asking a fish to not swim… not in my nature. After this day I realize this will be the most difficult intention for me to implement consistently.

Day 2 – 3 for 3!

Intention: Sugar Cleanse – Complete

This one was pretty simple for me to do day 2, partially because I am not having sugar withdrawal symptoms yet. It was easy until I got to last night, after my second midterm of the day, when I got home from class at 9 PM and realized I needed to START studying for my midterm on Friday… dun dun dun. Luckily I had exercised today so I was able to have 1/2 a sweet potato (in the form of sweet potato chips), carrots w/salsa, and kale chips to munch on.

Intention: Exercise 30 minutes/day – mission accomplished

I had a great workout yesterday at the gym for 60 minutes! I incorporated core strength, weight training (legs day), and a track and field warm-up workout for cardio.

Intention: Journal/Reflect/Meditate 10 minutes/day – yes but guided

I did meditate for 10 minutes yesterday, but it was a guided meditation by one of my professors I work with. It still counts, but I am going to push myself to do it on my own today!

All in all…

I think day one and two displayed that I am human like everyone else and it is hard to start and commit to a behavior change. I will keep pushing onward today and I will give you all an update tomorrow morning! ❤

27c72063-aca4-4d33-a04c-4799246d208a

If you are cleansing, detoxing, or just want a tea that is overall tonifying and helpful for the body try nettle and/or red clover tea. Either get the dry herbs or tea bags. Drink daily!

 

Leave a Reply

