Daily Food Diary w/Emma

Many of you have asked me to post a daily food diary of what I am eating. At first I was reluctant to do so, because I do not have a perfect diet. Some days I have pizza and candy and french fries and more (ok maybe not in one day, but I am human and I eat real food)!!! But then I thought about it more and realized that my diet is one thing all of the time… REAL! I have good days and bad, but overall I constantly strive to eat well and be mindful of my diet. Below is my daily diet for a few days this past week, WHILE ON SUGAR CLEANSE!

This is the list of foods that are “approved” on the sugar cleanse I am doing. Currently I am on day 10 out of 21!

Example Weekday!

breakfast:
Freshly picked kale and tomatoes from my garden in a veggie/cheese omelet, bacon, and coffee with coconut milk (no sugar added)! #nomnom

Freshly picked kale and tomatoes from my garden in a veggie/cheese omelet, bacon, and coffee with coconut milk (no sugar added)! #nomnom

Lunch:

Large leafy green salad from Whole Foods Market (kale, spinach, romaine) w/tomatoes, chickpeas, celery, carrots, beets, and roasted butternut squash. Also, side of Kale Tahini salad!

Snack:

Green apple w/almond butter (Justin’s brand has no added sugar)!

Dinner:
Roasted cauliflower with thyme, garlic, and parmesan cheese!

Roasted cauliflower with thyme, garlic, and parmesan cheese!

Also, had some carrots with salsa (good substitute for chips, but messier).

Water intake: about 80 oz today!

Yesterday’s Meals…

Brunch:

I decided to go out for brunch today, so I did not eat my typical breakfast/lunch. We ended up going to Elmer’s (not the healthiest option, but breakfast places are easier for those who are cleansing to find food to eat).

Egg, cheese, green onion, bell pepper omelet with bacon!

Snack:

Green apple and almond butter

Dinner:

Roasted Cauliflower Dish from above (I filled mason jars full of my roasted cauliflower to have easy to go meals for school) and sautéed collard greens, garlic, and tomatoes.

unnamed-10

Collard greens are tasty, good for you, and not hard to cook! Saute them in some olive oil with garlic, salt, and pepper!

Today So Far…

Breakfast:

3 egg omelet, cheddar cheese, whole diced green pepper, salsa/salt/pepper to taste. Also, coffee w/coconut milk and a dash of cinnamon (makes me think I am having a cinnamon dolce latte).

coming up for lunch:

I am making brown rice (1/2 cup) with salsa & mexican spiced chicken. I will wrap this up in collard green leaves to make, sugar cleanse soft ‘tacos’. Most likely I’ll also have some carrots with salsa until I am full or celery with almond butter.

My name is Emma Petshow and I am a 3rd year naturopathic medical student at the National College of Natural Medicine in Portland, OR. For more about myself, check out my bio. This blog is intended for information about preventive health and lifestyle improvement. The information contained on this blog is not to be used as medical advice. For specific medical advice you should consult your physician.
Leave a Reply

